Social Security Appeals

At Morgan & Justice in Columbus, our Social Security appeals lawyers have more than 50 years of experience helping people like you get benefits after initial claim denial. If your application for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits has been denied, we will stand by your side through the appeals process.

The Stages Of Social Security Disability Appeals

Our attorneys are well-versed in all stages of Social Security Disability appeals, which include:

Request For Reconsideration

The first stage is a request for reconsideration. This is a document-only process in which the Social Security Administration is asked to reconsider the initial decision. There is no hearing. Like the initial application, this step frequently results in a denial.

Administrative Law Judge Hearing

The second stage is a Social Security hearing before an administrative law judge, vocational expert and medical professional. In this hearing, our lawyers are able to present evidence, and question vocational and medical experts. We have achieved a great deal of success at this stage in the Social Security Disability appeals process.

Appeals Council

If the administrative law judge's decision is not favorable, we can request that it be reviewed by the Social Security Administration's Appeals Council. If the Appeals Council agrees with the administrative law judge's decision, it will deny the request. Otherwise, the Appeals Council may review the decision or it may send the claim back to the administrative law judge. We know how to carefully prepare Appeals Council review requests.

U.S. Federal Court

If the results are still not satisfactory after review by the Appeals Council, we may appeal the decision in federal court. As lawyers with more than 50 years of combined experience, we are prepared for this high level of Social Security Disability appeals.

Contact Us For A Free Consultation

Call us at 800-948-6200 or 614-258-1133, or send us an email today to begin the appeals process if your Social Security Disability claim has been denied.